Jump! Top Ten Leap Day Songs

I couldn’t resist posting on the first leap day since Sibyllines Syllables has existed. Happy birthday to all the leap day babies! This song list is dedicated to my leap day family and friends who are in birthday limbo most years.

I recently read an article which mentioned that one of the top five regrets of the dying was not being happier: “they longed to laugh properly and have silliness in their life”.

So today we’re getting silly with some light music.But first some trivia: Did you know that Superman was born on the 29th February?

Image Credit

When I searched my music for songs with the word “leap” I got zip. Its synonym “jump” was much more welcome in my playlist. If you’ve got some great leap songs, let us know in the comments. I don’t mean the Lambeau Leap Packers fans ;)

10. “Jumpin’, Jumpin'” – Destiny’s Child

Why? Beyoncé and Kelly.

9. “Jump” – Flo Rida featuring Nelly Furtado

Why? The song can make guinea pigs jump and that’s no easy feat.

8. “Jump into the fog” – The Wombats

Why? Just very catchy.

7. “One o’clock jump” – Count Basie

Why? Just listen to it.

6. “Jump for Joy” –  Duke Ellington

Why? Ahead of its time.

5. “Jump” – Madonna

Why? Pop parkour.

4. “Jump” – Kris Kross

Why? ‘Cause my whole class thought this song was so cool. Wiggitty wigitty wiggitty wack!

3. “Jump Around” – House of Pain

Why? Saxophone squealing sticks in one’s head.

2. “Jump (for my love)” – Girls Aloud / Pointer Sisters / Swing versions

Why? ‘Cause I loved Love Actually.

1. “Jump” – Van Halen

Why? You’ve been to a live sporting event, right?

Image Credit

I did discover a new “leap” song while researching this post: Etta James’ “Leap of faith”.

What are your favourite leap day worthy songs?

© Chenoa Fawn. 2012.

Comments
117 Responses to “Jump! Top Ten Leap Day Songs”
  1. I would add “Jump Jive and Wail” by the Brian Setzer Orchestra to that list.

  2. Marc Cohn’s “29 Ways.” :-)

  3. Great list of music to add to my iPod.,

    Congrats on being Freshly Jumped…..oops my bad. I meant Freshly Pressed.

    Mr. Bricks

    • chenoafawn says:

      Thanks Mr. Bricks. I’m also “not a blogger who can write about one topic”; this blog is mostly writing focused but I do roam as evident in this post :)

  4. Awesome list! But, you can only sing #4 with your jeans on backwards.

  5. What an awesome blog post.. love it, love it, love it!

  6. This is a little self-destructive, but how about “Jump Into the Fire” by Harry Nillsen?

    • chenoafawn says:

      Welcome and don’t worry about opening the flood gates – if online lyrics are to be trusted – Nillsen’s song is much tamer than Metallica’s “Jump in the fire”.

  7. Frank says:

    Excellent post for the day. Well done!

  8. kelskymac says:

    Love your blog post!

  9. emmahevezi says:

    leaping lizards by john moosa :) has association with leaping… haha lovely post though sweet pea xx

  10. JESSICA BAXTER says:

    jump into the fog is brilliant !

  11. ofalishlah says:

    Maybe Van Halen’s JUMP, higher than others in 80’s era

    Nice Post !

  12. Paul Morgan says:

    Reblogged this on The Jump Project and commented:
    Ha! See? Great minds think alike! Inspirational blog: Jump!

  13. Ryan says:

    Jump jump!

  14. natalieslatton says:

    Love the songs to help me enjoy Leap Day!!! Thank you! :D

  15. runitjojo says:

    hmmm…never thought of leap year in song. but surprisingly i know many of those songs listed and like them, especially jumping with kris kross!

  16. Val says:

    How about Emiliana Torrini ‘Big Jumps’.

  17. Dan says:

    Great post. I’m glad to see Madonna’s “Jump” getting some notice because it’s a rather obscure Madonna song!

  18. noTORIous says:

    Thanks for including one of my favs, the Duke !

  19. willbur4444 says:

    I really enjoyed the video and your choice for The Wombats. Great post.

  20. Leo says:

    Jumpin’ Jack Flash?

    • chenoafawn says:

      *Hand heel to head* I was meaning to include it but forgot to! Yes, Leo this should perhaps tie with Van Halen? Pardon my oversight, I’m going to wear my Rolling Stones t-shirt tomorrow as penance :)

  21. What about “jumpin jack flash” ? :)

  22. Very interesting! And I love your reasons why. Great post :)

  23. pnwauthor says:

    Happy birthday all you Pisces leapers and jumpers. Fun post.

  24. This is the funniest!

  25. Carly says:

    Haha this is an amazing list!!

  26. Here’s to leap o faith day. God looked down through the passages of time and decided this one is for all the procrastinators. What grace what unfathomable grace. Only God can decide top plop an extra day in right where he wants it proof positive that He holds time in his hands. Amen.

  27. Sarah Harris says:

    Love any list with Van Halen and Kriss Kross! Omg! Have to agree with Jump Jive and Wail too! Fun post!

  28. David Lee Roth still rocks! Thanks for putting this song into my head. Happy Leap Day! Cheers, Denise

  29. achilliad says:

    As a former DJ, I appreciate your “spin”. I thought I put a lot of videos in MY blog posts, but you just allayed THAT fear! LOL Kudos on getting pressed like a freshly flying leap!

    http://www.achilliad.wordpress.com

  30. graphick says:

    Good list, but I think it needs Cypress Hill’s “Jump Around!”

  31. ahmad says:

    thank you for this great post.

  32. Reblogged this on ansarikayyisah and commented:
    oke

  33. Tara Greene says:

    JUMPIN JACK FLASH!!!

  34. edrevets says:

    I don’t have a favorite leap day song, but I do watch 30 rock and apparently there was a really funny episode about the Leap Day holiday and Jim Carrey starred in it.

    I haven’t watched it yet but i have high expectations. You should watch it though. It’s probably on hulu.

  35. demam anak says:

    nice post…thanx

  36. gartenmarie says:

    Yeah, great post! It’s been a long time, that I listened to Destiny’s Child, thanks for remembering me. “Jumping, jumping” was one of my favorite Songs when I was younger. I just have to look for the DC this evening!

  37. M L Fuller says:

    I love Love Actually! I crossed my fingers that song made your list! It did! Win! :) Great post, btw.

  38. jakesprinter says:

    Beautiful post :)

  39. This would perfectly accompany my suggestions for a Leap Year Party! Why the hell not? :) Any event that takes four years of waiting should be celebrated!!

    Congrats on FP! Funny post :)

  40. Thoroughly enjoyed & giggled!

  41. Raaj Trambadia says:

    Hahah !! The list of songs is totally right for leap day !! Cheers :D

    And please check out my latest post on LOVE – http://raajtram.wordpress.com/2012/02/28/let-the-time-decide/ and even my new PhotoBlog – http://raajclicks.wordpress.com/2012/02/29/oh-i-love-my-laptop/

  42. Marti Parham says:

    Does “Jumpin Jack Flash” Count by the Stone? Love the mention of KrisKross (Wiggitty wigitty wiggitty wack!) Too funny.

    Great post!

  43. The one song that I can´t stop having in my head lately is Cold, by Blood Red Shoes.

  44. antarabesque says:

    Fun! Thank you.

  45. eLearning says:

    This is a great blog! Would you mind if I used some of your articles for my own site? With linkbacks of course :)

    • chenoafawn says:

      Thanks for the compliment but no, I do not grant you permission to use any material on my site.

      If you or anyone wants to use the wordpress reblog feature you may request to reblog specific posts which I may or may not grant permission to use.

      If you want to say something like: “Read this great article on the Sibylline Syllables blog about blah which you can read here [insert link to my post/article/copyright material hosted on http://www.chenoafawn.wordpress.com ]” you don’t need permission for that.

  46. Jump around! get up get up and get down!!

    Great list, great inspiration! JUMP! Love this post.

    The Eye

    http://theeyeoffaith.com

  47. BDazzle says:

    Love the list! The top three are absolutely right-on! Though I have to add Third Eye Blind’s “Jumper” to this list somewhere.

  48. haha hilarious!!! Was a big fan of House of Pain`s Jump around yesterday!! Check out my blog to learn how to make a difference in todays economy!

    Thanks!

    Logan

  49. I would add: “One Day More” from the musical Les Miserables – and, “One More Day (With You)” by Diamond Rio :)
    Congrats on being FP’d – Cheers, MoSop

  50. LaSimona says:

    Liked your idea and read with a smile. Ta! And, yeah! Jumpin’ Jumpin’ – now it’s in my ear!

  51. The Wombats… my favorites!!! :)

  52. The Hook says:

    That first pic scares the crap out of me!
    Great post, though!

  53. solarnebula says:

    Good list! I don’t have any others to add- I’m just relieved you put Jump by Van Halen as #1!

  54. brains says:

    “leap of faith” – bruce springsteen

  55. Such a fun playlist!

  56. metan says:

    I didn’t know that the 29th was Supermans birthday, thanks for that bit of trivia. I’ll whip it out at a later date and amaze the kids with my far-reaching knowledge! Did you know that another name for the leap year day is bissextile? That word was such an unexpected find I actually did a post about it on the 29th :)
    Thanks to you I now have House of Pain-Jump Around stuck in my head! *head bobbing*

  57. caseywheeler says:

    Jumpin’ Jack Flash by the Stones.

  58. yogaleigh says:

    Kenny Loggins “Leap of Faith”. The song is on his album by the same name. I think the Pointer Sisters Jump may be my favorite “jump” song of all time. Sorry Mick, I like Jumpin Jack too but they win.

  59. actuaria says:

    Reblogged this on Actuaria's Blog and commented:
    This made me smile :-)

  60. Sunshine says:

    How about the song “Leap Year Promise” from the Leap Year movie soundtrack, by Randy Edelman.? It’s instrumental but very moving.

  61. CubicleViews says:

    Well done here! Always been a House of Pain fan…well, like the song anyway.

  62. Reblogged this on Un-Conventional Guy and commented:
    Love the songs mentioned :D

  63. funny episode about the Leap Day holiday and Jim Carrey starred in it.

  64. Eeshan says:

    Nice Post here!!

    Leaping songs for the leap day! Cool! :)

  65. tazzaemo says:

    Reblogged this on EmO's are just another person and commented:
    an awesome blog. love it :)

  • © Chenoa Fawn 2010 - 2014. All rights reserved.
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 68 other followers

