The Write Stuff: Part II

Before I set out on the journey of publication I was working in the corporate landscape with lots of face time with my laptop. A typical day involved trying to fit actual work around a myriad of meetings, conference calls, and necessary travel. Even on a miraculous meeting free day I would have to get up from my desk to refill my water, grab a coffee or talk to a colleague. My day involved a degree of movement. Contrast this to what I do now: writing, researching, and reading (all bottom-on-seat activities). You know that being sedentary for long periods is not good for you. You’ve probably already got some stretchs (that you rarely remember to do) to keep your body flexible. This brings to me to the next writerly ‘thing’ I recommend you consider adopting: the ‘get-off-your-derrière‘ timer.

‘I’ve already got one of those,’ someone mutters. ‘It’s called a phone.’

Yes, I’ve got a timer on my phone too. It tends to step in when the microwave timer is already in use for another part of the meal. I’ve tried using a phone timer but the noise (even the pretty harp choice) more often than not breaks my progress at precisely the wrong moment. Setting it to vibrate does the same thing. If you also have this problem and shun those annoying pop up apps or more frustratingly the programs that lock you out for a set amount of time, I may have a solution for you.

Here’s a hint:

Image Source

When I sit down at my desk I flip my hourglass (a gift from a very special person) and start my work with a pleasing sense of symbolism. I can glance up to gauge how long until I should take a break. This eliminates the need to remember the time it’s been since I started or since my last stretch break. There is the risk of looking up way after the last grain of sand has fallen but in practice I am plus or minus a few minutes of that happening. The major benefit of this simple, ancient device is that it doesn’t mess with my chi.

Image Source

… while you’ve been admiring this stunning piece of design the last grain has fallen, I’ve put on the kettle, done four quick stretches and decided to break for a snack.

… time is a master of ceremonies who always ends up putting us in our rightful place, we advance, stop, and retreat according to his orders, our mistake lies in imagining that we can catch him out.
~José Saramago

This is the second in a series of posts about those unassuming objects that make a writer’s life better. Countless blogs have covered the basics of what to write with and where. I’ll be sharing an assortment of items that don’t come immediately to mind when you think ‘What do I need to be a writer?’. If you missed the first post, you can read it here.

© Chenoa Fawn. 2012.

Comments are closed.

  • © Chenoa Fawn 2010 - 2014. All rights reserved.
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 68 other followers

